ICCWS Biographies

Below are the ICCWS Biographies of the Conference and Programme Chairs, Key Note Speakers and Mini-Track Chairs.

Conference and Programme Chairs


Noëlle van der Waag-Cowling is a military science professional with 25 years of experience in the Department of Defence, South Africa and 20 years of experience in South African Higher Education at Stellenbosch University.  She is the co-ordinator of the Cyber Project at the Security Institute for Governance and Leadership in Africa.  She has served as assistant editor of the journal Scientia Militaria, published in various national and international scientific publications and been a participant in international military education projects.  Noëlle teaches fifth dimension warfare and low intensity conflict in the Department of Military Strategy, Stellenbosch University.


Dr. Louise Leenen is a Principal Researcher in the Cyber Defence research Group at the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), South Africa. She holds a PhD Computer Science (Artificial Intelligence) from the University of Wollongong in Australia. Her research focus is on artificial intelligence applications in the defence environment, cyber defence and ontology development. Before joining the CSIR she worked in the defence industry and has 17 years’ experience as a computer science lecturer both in South Africa and Australia. She is the Chair of the IFIP Working Group 9.10 on ICT in War and Peace.

Key Note Speakers


Sascha Bachmann Assessor Jur, LL.M, LL.D  is a former Army officer (Lieutenant Colonel - German Army Reserve) with operational experience and career professional in law and higher education. In the last 20 years he worked in various capacities and functions in the USA, the Middle East, South Africa and various European countries. Sascha is currently an Associate Professor with Bournemouth and has been there since 2013. In November 2017 he was appointed (Professorial) Research Fellow at CEMIS, Faculty of Military Science, Stellenbosch University. Sascha was educated in Germany (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) München), South Africa (Stellenbosch University and University of Johannesburg) and the United Kingdom (University of Portsmouth). He has been working with NATO, US CENTCOM, US AFRICOM, the Austrian Ministry of Defence, the Swedish Defence University, the Qatari Armed Forces, the Royal Danish Defence College and the South African National Defence Forces on the subjects of Hybrid War, Lawfare and InfoOps. Sascha is a regular contributor to NATO’s Legal Advisor Web (LAWFAS) with his publications often being used as NATO reference documents.