ECSM Future and Past

If you would be interested in hosting ECSM, please read the hosting document and contact Sue Nugus, Conferences Director, for more information.

Hosted by:

University of Brighton
Moulsecoomb Campus
Huxley building
Lewes Road

13 - 14 June 2019


The Electronic Proceedings from ECSM are included in your registration and are available to download for conference participants.  They are also available to purchase in 2 difference formats.

Purchase Proceedings from previous ECSM Conferences

Winners at ECSM 2019
Joint Best PhD Papers
1st place
Sven Gehrke, Lisa Wenige and Johannes Ruhland
Feasibility Study of Analysis of Senior IT Management Skills/Qualifications in Social Networks
Joint 2nd Place
Ajita Deshmukh
Deconstructing Lurking: Understanding Non-Responsive Behaviour Within Educational Facebook Group.
Chanda Mfula   
Social Media, Citizen Journalism and the Mediation of Democracy in Zambia



Poster Winners
Yash Chawla
Model for Social Media Management to Enhance Students' Career Opportunities
Ryan O'Carroll
Uses and Gratifications of Generation Z Within Social Networks – A Dialectical Investigation into the Facebook Domain
Joint Competition Winners
Manuel Au-Yong-Oliveira
Social Media as a Strategy for Communication with Students and the Community
Nitin Varma
The Social Mixer for a Class Apart
Conference Executives

Conference Chair:
Wybe Popma,
University of Brighton

Programme Chair:
Stuart Francis,
University of Brighton

Key Note Speakers: 
Hannah Brookes, Jellyfish
Finding voices: the role of users in generating content that works

Asher Rospigliosi, Brighton Business School
When Social Media doesn’t work

Ben Hackett, Brandwatch
'Social Listening' evolves into 'consumer research': a five year perspective  

Message of Thanks

We extend our thanks to all participants at the conference, both presenters and attendees and gratefully acknowledge the support of the host University of Brighton, UK, along with assistance provided by the Conference and Programme chairs and keynote speakers. The stream and mini track chairs are to be applauded for their efforts in ensuring that timekeeping requirements were respected by all participants and the chair and discussants of the PhD Colloquium are thanked for their invaluable contribution to this important part of the conference. Finally, we value and unreservedly acknowledge the essential role performed by the executive and programme committees in respect of the double blind review process. We trust that the overall the conference exceeded your expectations; we welcome your feedback.

Previous ECSM Conferences

ECSM 2018
Hosted by:

Limerick Institute of Technology
Moylish Park
Limerick Ireland. 
V94 EC5T

21-22 June 2018

Winners at ECSM 2018

PhD Winner

Creation and Crowdfunding: the Marketing of Arts
Laura Maechling, University of Brighton, UK

Best Poster
1st Place Finding Outcasts in Social Networks
Matias Ijäs, Finnish Defence Research Agency

2nd Place Designing for Public Participation in Paleontology Through the Development of an App
Richard Bex, Lisa Lundgren, Kent Crippen and Bruce MacFadden, University of Florida, Gainesville, USA
Conference Executives

Conference Chair: 
Professor Cunnane, 
Limerick Institute of Technology, Ireland

Programme Chair: 
Dr Niall Corcoran, 
Limerick Institute of Technology, Ireland

Key Note Speakers: 
Shane McCarthy, BlueChief
Your Social Media Controls Your Future

Eimear McManus, Digital Works
Introduction to growing a loyal community on social media

Stephen O’Leary, Olytico
Listen to Learn: 7 Steps to learning about your audience using social listening  

ECSM 2017
Hosted by: 

Mykolas Romeris University,

3-4 July 2017

Winners at ECSM 2017

Best PhD Paper:
1st Place Facebook and Weibo as a Tool for International Corporate Strategy Implementation
Anja Corduan, Technical University of Dresden, Germany

Merit Electronic Word of Mouth: A Measurement Model for Banks’ Reputation
Roila Christakou, Panteion University, Greece

Best Poster :
IT Alignment Through Artificial Intelligence
Emir K. Karadag, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Competition Winners

1st Place The Traditions Challenge mobile App
Adam Peruta, Syracuse University, New York, USA
2nd Place EDINA Digital Footprint Consultancy & Training Service
Nicola Osborne, University of Edinburgh, UK

3rd Place Developing Social Paleontology: A Case Study Implementing Innovative Social Media Applications Lisa Lundgren and Kent J Crippen, University of Florida, USA
Conference Executives

Conference Chair:
Aelita Skaržauskiene, 
Mykolas Romeris University (MRU)

Programme Chair: 
Nomeda Gudeliene, 
Mykolas Romeris University (MRU)

Key Note Speakers: 
Dr. Edgaras Leichteris, Knowledge Economy Forum, Lithuanian Innovation Center, Lithuanian Science, technology and innovation agency
"Society in the cloud - what is the future of digitalization?"

Daiva Lialyte, Integrity PR
"Practical point of view: push or pull strategy works on social media?"