The 9th Knowledge Management and Intellectual Capital Excellence Awards at ECKM

puzzle-in-a-lightbulb--problem-solving-conceptThe application of Knowledge Management (KM) and Intellectual Capital (IC) can lead to considerable improvements in organisational efficiency and effectiveness, not to mention competitive advantage. However, examples of good practice in the employment of KM and/or IC are not easy to find. The KM and IC Excellence awards aims to showcase good examples of high quality KM and IC in practice. These examples will be considered through case histories and we welcome contributions from academics, business professionals and students. Examples of the use of KM and/or IC within a university are also welcome.  

The final round of the competition will be run alongside the 25th  European Conference on Knowledge Management in, VeszprĆ©m, Hungary on the 6 ā€“ 7 September 2024.  The 2023 winners of Awards were: Denilson Sell JLuiz MĆ”rcio Spinosa, Ramiro Wahrhaftig, GĆ©rson Luiz Koch, AngĆ©lica Jung Marques, Neri dos Santos, Roberto Carlos dos Santos Pacheco with Fostering Innovation Ecosystems through Knowledge Co-Production: The Case of NAPI Program in ParanĆ”, Brazil. You can read these case histories and the other finalists in the 2022 Anthology of Case Histories, available from  

To enter the competition this year we are asking, in the first instance, for a 300 word abstract describing the initiative. If your proposal is suitable you will be invited to submit a full case history of no more than 3000 words, which will be considered as an entry to the competition. A panel of international adjudicators will evaluate the case histories. When preparing your abstract, keep in mind that full case histories will be structured around the following headings:  

      1. Introduction to the nature of the KM and IC initiative and its specific objectives
      2. The infrastructure i.e. people, systems, hardware, software etc. required to launch the initiative
      3. The challenges that were encountered, how they developed and how they were overcome
      4. How the initiative was received by the users or participants
      5. The learning outcomes that were achieved and how they were measured and evaluated
      6. Plans to further develop the initiative.

Authors of the top rated initiatives will be invited to register and attend the 25th  European Conference on Knowledge Management 2024 to present their case histories to the judges and conference participants. Finalists will also have their case histories published in a book and a prize will be awarded to the initiative judged to show the most creative thinking.  

Click here to submit an abstract to the competition.  

Important Dates

Supporters of The Knowledge Management and Intellectual Capital Excellence Awards

Abstract Submission ā€“ 27 March 2024
Notification of Abstract Acceptance ā€“ 10 April 2024
Full Case History Submission ā€“ 20 May 2024
Finalists announced ā€“ ļ»æ01 August 2024

If you have any queries, email:

Previous Winners

Winners 2023


Fostering Innovation Ecosystems through Knowledge Co-Production: The Case of NAPI Program in ParanĆ”, Brazil
Denilson Sell Luiz MĆ”rcioĀ Spinosa, RamiroĀ Wahrhaftig, GĆ©rson LuizĀ Koch, AngĆ©lica JungĀ Marques, Neri dosĀ Santos, Roberto Carlos dos SantosĀ Pacheco

Bringing Novices from the Passive role in Knowledge Sharing to the Active role
JorgeĀ GomesĀ and HamidĀ Roham

Model for Creating Sustainable Brands Through Managing Knowledge and Relational Capital
SlavicaĀ Trajkovska, AngelinaĀ Taneva-Veshoska, Kristina AntikjĀ GeorgievskiĀ and SlobodanĀ Trajkovski

Winners 2022

1stĀ Place
Unlocking the Power of Knowledge at the UKā€™s Largest Community Funder
JuliaĀ ParnabyĀ and Anne-MariĀ Hall

2ndĀ Place
Fast Expert Teams: Cross-Boundary Knowledge Co-Creation for Solving Complex Problems in Digital Platforms
KirsimarjaĀ BlomqvistĀ 

3rdĀ Place
Knowledge Management at NetApp
AndyĀ Kiendl, Padma SaiĀ Prasad, TomerĀ ShoshanĀ 

Winners 2021

1st Place 
Sonali Modi,. George Torres et al
Knowledge Management/Knowledge Centered Service implementation at Alteryx

2nd Place
Andrew Herd, Francesca Piretti et al
User-Needs Innovation-Driven Learning Through Lessons at the European Space Agency

3rd place
Dilkasha Tarannum et al
Knowledge Data Engineering for Forest Management Information Systems

Winners 2020

1st Place
Slavica Trajkovska, Angelina Taneva-Veshoska and Srecko Trajkovski
Innovative Model for Development of Learning Organisations Through KM and Intellectual Capital

2nd Place
Mayank Kejriwal
AI and Social Good in the Context of Sex Trafficking: Design Space and Best Practices

Winners 2019

Joint 1st Place: Murali Raman, Ts. Magiswary Dorasamy and Najwa Abu Bakar
A Knowledge Management System in Support of Disaster Management: A Malaysian Experience

Adam Pope
The Arup Tools Register: A Knowledge System for Capturing IP in Software    

3rd place: Ibrahim Seba Almarri, Ahmad Mohammad Rafi and Mansoor Algargawi
Initiative of a Learning Organization within the Dubai Police    

Winners 2018ļ»æ

 1st Place: Securing Knowledge Management Position in a Challenging and Complex Environment
Mohsen Hamedi, Firoozeh Hadian Dehkordi and Maryam Barikiany, MAPNA R&D, Iran

2nd Place: Wien mags wissen: 'Vienna likes to know' The Knowledge Management Strategy of a 'City of Knowledge': From the Project Order to Implementation
Anabela Horta, Vienna City Administration, Austria

3rd Place: Knowledge Management and Cultural Change in a Knowledgeā€Intensive Public Organization: The Case of Swissmedic
Michael Renaudin, Swissmedic, Bern, Switzerland, Francesca Dal Mas, Andrea Galatti and Maurizio Massaro, University of Udine, Italy  

Winners 2017

  1st Place: Charnwood Connect: Holistic Knowledge Management for Building Resilience in the Voluntary Sector
Moya Hoult, Gillian Ragsdell, Peter Davey and Paul Snape, Loughborough University, UK

2nd Place: CKT at the EPO ā€“ Knowledge Management in an International Organization Hanno
Schombacher, Jeremy Scott and Lars Vistisen, European Patent Office (EPO), Germany

3rd Place: The State of the Art and Science of Knowledge Management at NASA Goddard Space flight Center
Moses Adoko, Edward Rogers and Juan Roman, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, USA

Special Winner: A Knowledge Management System for the Prevention and Detection of Breast and Cervical Cancer 
Carlos Ruiz, Carlos Gomez and Marcelo Lopez

Winners 2016ļ»æ

  ECKM comp winnersJoint 1st Place: Mentoring, lessons learned, best practices, storytelling and knowledge base 
Batista FƔbio, Institute for Applied Economic Research, - Ipea,

Brazil and Designing a KM Strategy for a Provincial Government Department Kok
Andrew and Jan-Carel de Ridder Western Cape Government ā€“ Department of Transport & Public Works, South Africa

Winners 2015

The Winners of the 2015 Knowledge Management and Intellectual Capital Excellence Awards, Barry Bryne and Vincent McGrath from the Irish Defence Forces with the Judges. The Winners of the 2015 Knowledge Management and Intellectual Capital Excellence Awards
Barry Bryne and Vincent McGrath from the Irish Defence Forces with the Judges.

The winning case history was entitled
Irish Defence Forcesā€™ Information and Knowledge Management (IKM) Programme.