The 12th International Educational Games Competition at ECGBL 2024

ECGBL 2024 will host the 12th International Educational Game Competition (IEGC) on October 2024 Games submitted for the competition are expected to accomplish an educational goal. Authors should be prepared to explain their design and evaluation process, why it is innovative (the game itself or its educational setting), how engaging and/or immersive it is and how they achieved (will achieve) the impact they seek.

The game should be in a development state that engages the player for at least 10 minutes. The competition will be divided into three sections – one for fully developed games, one for games in development and another category for games developed by students. Prizes will be awarded to the best entries in each category.

The aims of the competition are:

  • To provide an opportunity for educational game designers and creators to participate in the conference and demonstrate their game design and development skills in an international competition;
  • To provide an opportunity for GBL creators to peer-assess and peer-evaluate their games;
  • To provide ECGBL attendees with engaging and best-practice games that showcase exemplary applications of GBL.

Games in any format are welcome and this includes both digital and non-digital applications.

Submission In the first instance a 300 word outline should be submitted online.

Successful competitors will be invited to present their game at the 12th European Conference on Games Based Learning (ECGBL 2023) hosted by Aarhus University, Denmark, to present their games to the judges.

Past winners of the competition have included a wide range of game styles and pedagogical methodologies. 

All presenters in the awards must attend the physical conference.

Click here to submit a game outline

Important Dates

Abstract Submission Deadline – 06 May 2024

Notification of Game Acceptance – 20 May 2024

Conference Registration Deadline – 29 August 2024

If you have any queries, email:  

Further information about the 18th European Conference on Games Based Learning can be found at:

Previous Winners


Dragons of Afterlands
Sarah Campbell and Marcus Munafo, Play Well for Life and University of Bristol, UK


Svoboda 1945
Vit Sisler


Seek and Search –National Palace Museum, Seek and Search - Qianlong Emperor's Southern Tours
Wu Mi-cha and Chen Yenjui


Reef Stakes®
Yew Aun Quek, Malaysia


Master of Numbers
Bilgen Demirdaş


The Chantry.
David Moore, Sheffield Hallam University, UK
Crabs & Turtles, Katerina Tsarava, Leibniz Institut fuer Wissensmedien, Germany


Datak: A serious game about personal data.
Julien Schekter & Bastien von Wyss, RTS (Radio Télévision Suisse), Switzerland


Circuit Warz Michael Callaghan,
Niall McShane and Augusto Gomez Eguiluz, Ulster University, UK


Czechoslovakia 38-89: Assassination
Cyril Brom, CharlesUniversity, Prague, Czech Republic


Meister Cody - Talasia Learning Math
Tino Holthausen, Kaasa Health, Germany


Mystery of Taiga River
Sasha Barab and Anna Arici, Arizona State University, USA