The 8th e-Learning Excellence Awards at ECEL 2022

E-Learning and blended learning are now well integrated into teaching and training. This method of education is being used from preschool through to postgraduate study, not to mention in business and industry.  

However, examples of high performing e-Learning applications are hard to find. For this reason, in 2015, ACPIL established the e-Learning Excellence Awards to showcase innovative examples of e-Learning use. These examples are presented through case histories which can be written by academics, teachers, business professionals or students. Examples are welcome from universities or schools as well as the private and public sectors. The Awards are now in their seventh year and the finals will be run alongside the European Conference on e-Learning in Brighton, UK on the 27-28 October 2022.  

The winner of the 2021 e-Learning Excellence Awards was the initiative: Web-Based Dementia Care Partner Education using the iGeriCare Platform. Anthony J. Levinson, Stephanie Ayers, Lori Mosca, Alexandra Papaioannou, Sharon Marr and Richard Sztramko.

You can read the case history and the other finalists in the 2020 Anthology of Case Histories, available from  

To enter the competition this year we ask you in the first instance to submit an abstract of 300 words describing your initiative. If your proposal is suitable you will be invited to submit a full case history of no more than 3000 words which will be considered as an entry to the competition. A panel of international adjudicators will evaluate the case histories.  

When preparing your abstract, keep in mind that full case histories will be structured around the following headings:  

  1. Introduction to the nature of the e-Learning initiative and its specific objectives
  2. The infrastructure i.e. people, systems, hardware, software etc. required to launch the initiative
  3. The challenges that were encountered, how they developed and how they were overcome
  4. How the initiative was received by the users or participants
  5. The learning outcomes that were achieved and how they were measured and evaluated
  6. Plans to further develop the initiative.

Authors of the top rated initiatives will be invited to register and attend the European Conference on e-Learning  at University of Brighton on 27–28th October 2022 to present their case histories to the judges and conference participants. Finalists will also have their case histories published in a book and a prize will be awarded to the initiative judged to show the most creative thinking.  

To submit an abstract to the competition, please use the online form:

 Important Dates

Abstract Submission –18 May 2022  Extended to 30 May 2022

Notification of Abstract Acceptance – 01 June 2022

Full Case History Submission –  06 July 2022

Finalists announced –15 August 2022

If you have any queries, email:

Further information about the European Conference on e-Learning can be found at:


Previous Winners


Web-Based Dementia Care Partner Education using the iGeriCare Platform
Anthony J. Levinson, Stephanie Ayers, Lori Mosca, Alexandra Papaioannou, Sharon Marr and Richard Sztramko


Lab/Skill based learning under COVID-19
Ekkehard Altenburger, Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong SAR


Transforming Professional Learning with Mobile Technologies
Kevin Burden, Matthew Kearney and Sandy Schuck 



Fashion Students Choose how to Learn
Michaella Cavanagh, Durban University of Technology, South Africa


Online Experiential Learning: Bringing the Complexities of the Courtroom to the Classroom
Karen Miner-Romanoff