The 4th e-Learning Excellence Awards at ECEL 2018

Star Awards


E-Learning and blended learning are now well integrated into teaching and training. This method of education is being used from preschool through to postgraduate study, not to mention in business and industry.

However, examples of high performing e-Learning applications are hard to find. For this reason, in 2015, ACPIL established the e-Learning Excellence Awards to showcase innovative examples of e-Learning use. These examples are presented through case histories which can be written by academics, teachers, business professionals or students. Examples are welcome from universities or schools as well as the private and public sectors. The Awards are now in their fourth year and the finals will be run alongside the European Conference on e-Learning in Athens, Greece on the 1 - 2 November 2018

The winner of the 2017 e-Learning Excellence Awards was the initiative: Online Experiential Learning: Bringing the Complexities of the Courtroom to the Classroom by Karen Miner-Romanoff. You can read her case history and the other finalists in the 2017 Anthology of Case Histories, available from

To enter the competition this year we ask you in the first instance to submit an abstract of 300 words describing your initiative. If your proposal is suitable you will be invited to submit a full case history of no more than 3000 words which will be considered as an entry to the competition. A panel of international adjudicators will evaluate the case histories.

When preparing your abstract, keep in mind that full case histories will be structured around the following headings:

  1. Introduction to the nature of the e-Learning initiative and its specific objectives
  2. The infrastructure i.e. people, systems, hardware, software etc. required to launch the initiative
  3. The challenges that were encountered, how they developed and how they were overcome
  4. How the initiative was received by the users or participants
  5. The learning outcomes that were achieved and how they were measured and evaluated
  6. Plans to further develop the initiative.

Authors of the top rated initiatives will be invited to register and attend the European Conference on e-Learning  at the Technological Educational Institution (TEI) of Athens, Greece on 1 - 2 November 2018 to present their case histories to the judges and conference participants. Finalists will also have their case histories published in a book and a prize will be awarded to the initiative judged to show the most creative thinking.

The 4th e-Learning excellence awards at ECEL 2018

Important Dates

Abstract Submission – 15 May 2018

Notification of Abstract Acceptance – 26 May 2018

Full Case History Submission – 05 July 2018

Finalists announced –14 August 2018

Submit your abstract here:



If you have any queries please email:


Previous Winners have Included

2017 Winner

Online Experiential Learning: Bringing the Complexities of the Courtroom to the Classroom
Karen Miner-Romanoff